

Office of the Mayor City of Ottawa

110 Laurier Avenue West Ottawa, Ontario K1P 1J1

Tel.: 613-580-2496 Fax: 613-580-2509

Email: Mark.Sutcliffe@ottawa.ca

Bureau du maire Ville d'Ottawa

110, avenue Laurier Ouest Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 1J1 Tél.: 613-580-2496

Téléc.: 613-580-2509

Courriel: Mark.Sutcliffe@ottawa.ca

October 20, 2023

Dear Ottawa residents,

This week I met with a group of religious leaders from throughout Ottawa to speak about the need to work together to ensure Ottawa remains safe and peaceful and to denounce all forms of hatred and discrimination, no matter what is happening in other parts of the world.

I'm grateful to live in a city with strong faith leadership. Working together, we are releasing this Faith Leaders statement that has been signed by a number of clergy in our city. We encourage other faith leaders to add their voices to this message. Thank you.

Mayor Mark Sutcliffe

We recognize that there is tremendous pain and grief in our city right now.

While we may not agree on everything, and at times, it may seem like we agree on very little, here in Ottawa we have a commitment that we share with every good person in the world.

We will never tolerate what is going on around the world to be used as a justification for any form of discrimination, violence or hatred in our city.

We request the wonderful residents of our beloved city to join us in calling out all forms of hatred, and to never glorify or take joy in violence. We urge everyone to never allow our ideologies, religious beliefs, or political positions to become a cause for hatred of another human being.

We are all neighbours. We stand with each other and against all forms of hate now and forever.

Faith Leaders

Imam Sikander Hashmi	Right Reverend Shane A.D	Rabbi Menachem M. Blum
Rabbi Idan Scher	Parker	Reverend Elizabeth Bryce
Reverend Dr. Anthony Bailey	Imam Ismail Albatnuni	Reverend Doctor Teresa
	Imam Rashid Al-Qasmi	Burnett-Cole
Archbishop Marcel	Imam Mohammed Badat	Reverend Steve Clifton
Damphousse	Reverend Stephanie Bates	Imam Zijad Delic

Reverend Brian Cornelius Cantor Jason Green Reverend Eric Hebert-Daly Imam Ahmed Khalil Rabbi Aryeh Kravetz Imam Anver Malam Bishop Yvan Mathieu **Imam Samy Metwally** Rabbi Chaim Mendelsohn Rabbi Daniel Mikelberg Imam Muhammad Suliman Reverend Jennifer Power Reverend David Sherwin Imam Myloud Tajri **Imam Owais Tilly** Reverend Carla Van Delen Reverend Sandra Yule Reverend Elaine Beattie Reverend Andrew Jensen Reverend Paul Dillman **Reverend Cindy Casey** Reverend Dr. Frank Emanuel Reverend Dr. Jon Martin Archidiacre Rhonda Waters Reverend Geoffrey Chapman Reverend Michael Garner

Reverend Jenni Leslie Reverend Ed Gratton Venerable Monique Stone Archdeacon Mark Whittall Father Alex Michalopulos Reverend James E. Pot Rabbi Dara Lithwick Reverend Kim Vidal Reverend Lorrie Lowes Jason Byers **Reverend Bob Davies** Reverend Canon Gary van der Meer Reverend Dr. Caroline Ducros Reverend Ryan Farrell **Reverend Grant Stuckless** Bhai Manmohan Singh Reverend Carolyn Seabrook Hon. Kofi Oppong Owusu Imam Farhan Iqbal **Reverend Christopher Clarke** Rabbi Baruch Frydman-Kohl, C.M. Reverend Dr. Karen Dimock **Reverend Peter Woods** Mark Peterkins **Reverend Steve Stewart**

MacRobbie Reverend Douglas Ward Reverend Dan Wallis Dr. Daniel MacKinnon Rabbi Steven Gotlib Pastor David Hood Reverend Colin McFarland Reverend Omid Azgomi Reverend Denise Allen-Macartney Reverend Meg Patterson Reverend Grant Wilson Reverend Paul Wu Pastor Ken Roth Reverend Joshua Wang Pastor Dan Chook Reid Reverend Eric Versluis Pastor Dave Whitecross Rev'd Deacon Steven Zytveld Reverend Daryold Winkler

Reverend Dr. Gregory